Ohio State Navbar

About Us



McCarthy wins 2010 Clinical Excellence Award

"Excellence can be obtained if you: care more then others think is wise, risk more then others think is safe, dream more then others think is practical and expect more then others think is possible"
-Author unknown

It is with great pleasure we announce the well deserving 2010 Excellence Award Recipients Clinical Excellence Award

  • Heath Hummel RN, BSN
  • Helen McCarthy CNP
  • Lindsey McConnell RN, BSN, OCN
  • Amy Menke RN, BSN, OCN
  • Mary Beth Miller RN, OCN
  • Matthew Ringel MD
  • Jan Roasa RN, BSN
  • Carmen Sidani RN, MS, CNP
  • Louise Williams RN, CNOR
  • Excellence in Service Award Helen McCarthy, CNP
  • Linda Lane RHIA, CPHQ

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
It is an honor to be working in the same environment as these extraordinary individuals.
Joyce Schlatter, RN
Chair, James Magnet Council

Taylor receives Friend of Hospice Award.

Robert M. Taylor, MD, Medical Director of the OSU Center for Palliative Care, recently was selected to receive the Friend of Hospice Award from the Ohio Hospice & Palliative Care Organization, Ohio Home Care Organization. The award was given to recognize the outstanding contributions made by Dr. Taylor that touched the lives of his patients and co-workers.

The award was announced by President/CEO, Jeff Lucan, and was presented at the Annual Conference, “FLIGHT INTO THE FUTURE”.

The James Quality, Satisfaction, and Patient Safety Fair
Members of the Center for Palliative Care collaborated in award-winning quality improvement projects at the James Quality, Satisfaction, and Patient Safety Fair, December 3, 2009!

“Greatest Quality and Patient Satisfaction Improvement” Award for Thoracic Surgery Service improves satisfaction, quality, and costs for James inpatients with lung cancer

A Collaboration of the Thoracic Surgery Service Team, the Pain & Palliative Medicine Service Team, Michael Adolph MD, Robert Taylor MD, Moira Kelsey RN, Ron Lewis, & Justin Pestrue.

OSU Comprehensive Cancer Center, James Quality and Patient Safety Department, Champions of Excellence Quality Fair, December 3, 2009, James Cancer Hospital

“Best Teamwork” Award for Using Best Practice in a Sickle Cell Disease Inpatient Clinical Guideline, Deb Hanes, Sickle Cell Team, Pain & Palliative Medicine Service Team,

OSU Comprehensive Cancer Center, James Quality and Patient Safety Department, Champions of Excellence Quality Fair, December 3, 2009, James Cancer Hospital 


Dr. Srividya Viswanathan Receives Humanism Award

Dr. Srividya Viswanathan, Fellow in the Center for Palliative Care 2008-2009, recently
received the Robyn D. Howson Housestaff Humanism Award. Dr. Robert M. Taylor, Medical Director for the Center, presented the award August 27, 2009, during Grand Rounds. The award is "given to recognize a member of the housestaff who is widely regarded by faculty members, housestaff, nurses, medical students and other healthcare professionals as routinely exhibiting attributes of: Ethics and integrity; Caring and compassion for patients and patients' family members; Effective communication with patients, physicians, and other healthcare professionals; and Excellent customer service." Dr. Viswanathan is currently a Fellow in the Division of Hematology/Oncology at Ohio State University.

Didi Loseth Receives Distinguished Service Award

Didi Loseth, RN, MSN, ACHPN, was the 2007 recipient of the ASPI's Distinguished Service Award. The award recognizes Didi's contributions to the State Pain Initiative movement and to improving pain management and palliative care. Countless persons with pain have benefited from Didi's dedication and passion to the mission of improving pain relief through her work as an advanced practice nurse. Didi has also played an integral role in building and sustaining the State Pain Initiative movement through her leadership with the Connecticut Cancer Pain Initiative and the Advisory Council for the ASPI. Congratulations, Didi, on an honor greatly deserved!

Wells-DiGregorio to receive Ohio Psychological Association Award

Sharla Wells-DiGregorio, a member of the Professional Practice Committee, will be one of the receipiants of the Outstanding Committee Award during OPA's Annual Award Presentation, Friday, October 23rd, 2009. The Award ceremony will take place at 1:45 at the Quest Conference Centers of Polaris Parkway, Columbus.

The Award was announced by Katie Crabtree Thomas, Director of Communications and Education for OPA.

Coller accepted by Harvard Medical School Program

Kristen Coller, MD, OSU Center for Palliative Care, was recently accepted by the Harvard Medical School Program in Palliative Care Education and Practice Course.
Accepted applicants have demonstrated expertise in clinical care and teaching skills, as well as personal commitment and leadership. A scholarship was also included in the award. The Course held in Boston, MA, is divided into two terms for a total of 15 days.

Gustin in National Leadership Program

Jillian Gustin, MD, OSU Center for Palliative Care has been accepted into the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM) Leadership Education and Academic
Development Program (LEAD). The program consists of five retreats over the next three
years with projects and assignments between retreats and take place in Oakbrook, IL.

AAHPM LEAD is an innovative three-year leadership development program designed to
promote collaboration among Hospice and Palliative Medicine Junior Faculty as they
prepare to assume leadership positions at academic institutions.

Gustin Won AAHPM Award

Jillian Gustin, MD, Clinical Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, OSU Center for Palliative Care, won the AAHPM Award for Young Investigators in the Junior Faculty category for her paper titled "Mood and Anxiety in Advanced Cancer Patients' Kids Matter." This award recognizes a young researcher whose abstract submission was considered outstanding by the AAHPM program committee. A poster display of her work will appear at the AAHPM Annual Assembly. Her abstract also will be published on the AAHPM Web Site and in the Journal of Pain and Symptom Management.

Wells-Di Gregorio Receives LIVESTRONG™ and American Cancer Society Grants

The Ohio State University LIVESTRONG™ Survivorship Center of Excellence recently announced the funding of a $10,000 Grant to Sharla Wells-DiGregerio, Ph.D., OSU Center for Palliative Care. The Grant “Randomized pilot trial of a cognitive-behavioral anxiety-insomnia intervention for advanced cancer survivors: Exploration of neuro-immune process associated with anxiety” was one of the top projects that best reflected the Center’s biobehavioral emphasis in cancer survivorship research.

Investigators will be asked to present at the 2010 or 2011 Annual OSU-CCC Scientific Meeting and during the upcoming OSU/LAF Research Network meeting, tentatively scheduled for March 12, 2010.

Additional grant support for Dr. Wells-Di Gregorio’s project was awarded by the American Cancer Society Institutional Seed Grants. The funding amount is $30,000 over the course of one year.

Dr. Wells-Di Gregorio is Assistant Professor of Psychiatry & Psychology, and Clinical Psychologist for The Ohio State University Center for Palliative Care.

Adolph Receives Physician “Champion of Nursing” Award

Dr. Michael Adolph, OSU Center for Palliative Care, has received the Physician “Champion of Nursing” Award from the James Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Adolph was the first graduating Fellow from the OSU Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship Program in 2006 and soon after, joined the CPC staff.

The award will be presented Friday, May 13th, 1:00 p.m. in the James Cancer Hospital, Room 518.